John B. Mors


"The Wright Series."

The 'Wright Series' sculptures are derived from the works of Frank Lloyd Wright.
There are five sculptures in the series, representing the different styles ( periods or ages ) of Frank Lloyd Wright, based on:
  • Frank Lloyd Home and Studio, Oak Park, Chicago, Illinois.
  • Unity Temple, Oak Park, Chicago, Illinois.
  • Fallingwater ( Kaufmann House ), Mill Run, Pennsylvania.
  • Prairie House, Illinois.
  • Usonian House, Pope-Leighey Home, Alexandria, Virginia.
The sculptures recreate the experience of seeing and visiting the actual houses. Note that in certain cases, notably FallingWater, the experience of visiting the house is substantially different from seeing the building in a book.

The houses may resemble kid's blocks. This is intentional. Frank Lloyd Wright was influenced by the work of Fredrich Froebel ( the inventor of Kindergarten ), and John Wright, his son, was the inventor of Lincoln Logs.

As in any series, there is a change that occurs during the making of the series. The first sculpture, 'Kaufmann House', relates strongly to the subject. The second sculpture is derived from its subject, the Prairie house, and the first sculpture. By the end of the series, 'Studio and House', the reference is mainly the previous sculptures as opposed to the subject.

The following are EXTERNAL links about Frank Lloyd Wright:

The following contain information about the individual houses:

The following links contain information about Fredrich Froebel:

  Home  Biography  Shows  New Work  Process  Interviews/reviews  Catalog  Sitemap